Farewell for now, Powered by Produce

One of my favorite bloggers (Angie, from Powered by Produce) just signed off, and I was so touched by her farewell message. I included the most moving parts below. Read the message in its entirety here.

* * *

I recently heard (though I can’t for the life of me remember where… maybe it was just a voice inside my head?):

“You don’t choose the cause. The cause chooses you. You have a purpose.”

I like to imagine that this is what happened to me. That it was fate which led me to that book that day. That the cause chose me because I had something to offer, some way of bringing this darkness into light, some chance at actually making a difference that matters.

And I tried. I really tried.

But I’m tired now.

I can only tell people so many times that they are eating cancer-causing, artery-clogging, environmentally-destructive, tortured, abused, mutilated, drug-filled, mass-produced, painfully-slaughtered, fellow creatures, then watch them continue to stuff their faces with it, before becoming emotionally and mentally exhausted.

It is difficult for me to describe in words (though some screams or tears might help), the immense frustration and sadness I feel from knowing, without a doubt, that the way we treat these animals is wrong, then watching those I know and love continue to support this heinous system.

I do realize that, sometimes, people don’t know the extent of the abuse, and I’d love to inform each and every single person. But to my extreme bewilderment and dismay, I’ve found that even when people become informed about what is happening, they still support it.

And I simply can not wrap my feeble little mind around this.

How can people knowingly pay for tortured animals? How can people who claim to be animal lovers not see how they are directly fueling some of the worst animal abuse imaginable? How can those who claim to care about the environment support an industry creating more greenhouse gasses than the entire transportation industry combined? How can people say they want to lose weight, lower their cholesterol, lower their blood pressure, and reduce their risk of cancer, then shove their mouths full of the ONLY THING that has cholesterol, the ONLY source of saturated fat, the thing that the American Institute for Cancer Research advises against in SIX OUT OF EIGHT of their tips to reduce your risk of cancer?

WHY DOES NO ONE CARE???

Not only is my sense of helplessness growing exponentially, but the toxic information overload is eating away at my soul (how many times can I read about humans intentionally shoving sharp objects up animals’ rectums before becoming completely jaded), and my trust in humanity is quickly fading.

So I sign off today not knowing where this blog will head. No, it’s not over, but until I find a renewed sense of faith in people to respond to cruelty and destruction by not supporting it, I can’t continue to pour out my bleeding heart day after day only to have it crushed again and again… it’s just too overwhelming.

* * *

In her honor, I just purchased “Slaughterhouse” by Gail Eisnitz – the book that turned her vegetarian. The book contains first hand accounts of slaughterhouse workers, so I’m expecting really gruesome and depressing descriptions that would turn me veg (if I weren’t already). Will let you know my thoughts once I start reading it.

This entry was posted in vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

